Apocalyptic Views of my Time

When I was 11, I was very fearful that the end would come and I wouldn’t be ready.

When I was 13, I was afraid that Kennedy and Khrushchev would blow up the world (literally).

When I became an adult, I learned that many stories in the Bible were mythological stories. 

Then I learned that these myths existed in other contexts, and poets used these themes.

I learned the Robert Frost poem, “Fire and Ice”

Some say the world will end in fire,

Some say in ice.

From what I’ve tasted of desire

I hold with those who favor fire.

But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice 

Is also great

And would suffice.

Then along came Y2K: the fear mongers had another chance to scare the wits out of the naive. Fortunately, my friend Joe had his 50th birthday on December 30, 1999. He invited some friends to go to Death Valley to help him celebrate his birthday. Should the doomsayers be right, we would melt into the end of time in the desert.

Now comes the end of the Mayan calendar. Yet another day which holds the prediction of disaster. Gullible ones, next month there will still be Death, War, Famine, and Pestilence, but the world ain’t gonna end. 

Leave a Reply

