Bus Stop Conversation

It is October but in the middle of the day it is still warm. I walked across the street to get to the shady side of the street.

I got to the bus stop at the NO LOITERING/BUS STOP signs. There were two guys sitting and drinking from their 24 ounce cans of beer. One fellow asked me how I was doing. I answered that I was doing fine, after all this was Bisbee and the weather was great. He agreed. In the process of the conversation we had introductions all around.

William: I’m William the Conquer. Did you know that my name is from the Bible?
Roger: No, I didn’t know that.
Alvin: I’m Alvin. [Alvin was really showing the effect of the beer.]
William: [Pointing to a “Jesus Lives” card stapled to a nearby post.] And Jesus.

William: How long have you lived in Bisbee?
Roger: About a year.
Alvin: I have lived all my life in Bisbee.
Roger: Wow
William: I was born here too.

After a few more pleasantries, I was about to take my leave.

William: Before you go can I read you my favorite scripture?
Roger: Ja, if it isn’t real long.
William: No, it’s short.
Roger: OK
William paged through his small Bible, with the New Testament and Psalms and Proverbs. Then he read Psalms 23.
Alvin: [After he was done] “They always read that when you’re dead.”
William: Not  always, They read it at other times, too.
Alvin: When?
William: Like when you are lonely.

I thanked him for the conversation and the reading. Now I felt my day was blessed.

Leave a Reply

