Unwanted Photographer

I was crossing the street to Grassy Park in downtown Bisbee. Ahead of me was a man taking a picture of his wife and two daughters. I was presented with options – walk around the  the three females, walk through the photographer’s view, or offer to take a picture of the 4 of them.

I remembered a meeting of shopkeepers where the slogan thrown around the tables was “Embrace the Tourist”. Usually I wouldn’t offer to take a picture for them, but they were situated so close to me.

My orientation changed ever so slightly. The woman immediately said “Sir, we are trying to take a picture.” She was dissing me in order to protect her and her daughters. Her husband said quietly, “He was just offering to take our photograph.”

I laughed loudly, and decided that next time I will just walk obliviously through the photographer’s view.

Leave a Reply

