Duchess

I met Alberto, an old rodeo cowboy, on the sidewalk on Main Street. I shook his hand. He motioned me to the other side of the door of the gallery which he was manning today.

A group of tourists was approaching his gallery. Then I noticed that this group was an entourage of Patricia, well known in Old Bisbee as the Duchess. As the group neared the gallery Alberto greeted Patricia and she returned the greeting, as she maneuvered around Alberto and me.

After the Duchess and her entourage passed the gallery, Alberto sighed. He said, “I had hoped that she would come into the galley, so she would see the painting of me.”

“Vanity of vanities, saith the Preacher, vanity of vanities; all is vanity.”*

=================================

* Ecclesiastes 1:2 (KJV)

Leave a Reply

